Timor-Leste is the newest country in Asia becoming independent in 2002 after a history of colonisation and occupation. It is strategically located in Southeast Asia, 550 km north of Australia and includes the enclave of Oecusse-Ambeno. It is the only Portugese speaking country in Asia.

Official Name Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
Area 14,919 km2
Coastline 706 km
Population 1,225,000 (2017)
Capital Dili
Nationality Timorese
Religion Christian (mainly Roman Catholic)
Official Languages Portugese and Tetum
Other Languages English and Bahasa
Government System Parliamentary Republic
Administrative Division 13 Municiplaities
Climate Tropical hot and humid: 19C-32C. Dili, the capital, is hot all year.
Currency US Dollar
Time Zone GMT + 9