Robust Democracy
Timor-Leste has only been independent since 2002 and is already recognised as one of the most democratic countries in Southeast Asia (The Diplomat 2018). Despite being a fledgling democratic country, the principles of democracy that are proudly treasured in its constitution are upheld and respected.
Celebrating Democracy and Peace in Timor-Leste

President of Republic
The Head of State is the President of the Republic, who is elected by popular vote for a five-year term. The President guarantees the respect for the Constitution and for State Institutions, and when necessary, can act as a mediator for conflit resolution. They can also exercise the right to veto legislation put forth by the government and approved by the National Parliament. The next scheduled Presidential election is 2022.

The Timorese parliament is the National Parliament or Parlamento Nacional, whose members are also elected by popular vote to a five-year term. The number of seats can vary from a minimum of 52 to a maximum of 65. All legal political parties can run to the legislative elections, organizing to that effect their list of candidates to the National Parliament.

The Government is the Executive body of the State and is responsible for the development and implementation of the Government Program for the 5 year term. The Head of the Government is the Prime-Minister. The next scheduled general election is 2023.

Legal System
The Government civil law system is based on the Portuguese model and written in Portugese. Note that penal and civil law codes to replace the Indonesian codes were passed by Parliament and promulgated in 2009 and 2011.